the Italian opera


Having generated as a genre in Italy, the opera since 1597 has quickly extended across all Europe. However fashion-makers in a new art form invariably there were Italian composers, such as Klaudio and Alessandro Skarlatti.

Having arisen as "фЁрьр under ьѕч№ъѕ" the opera to the beginning of XIX century has turned to purely musical representation in which to a recitative - to the rhythmical recitation drawlingly - almost does not remain places, and arias were organically entered in a performance plot. An aria (it is literally "тючфѕ§") is long solo number. For the period of aria execution all scenic action faded, and with it almost each phenomenon usually came to the end.

The recitative which has Remained in dialogues usually was accompanied by chords chembalo (harpsichord) when the exchange of remarks occurred in action development, and introductions of all orchestra for expression of strong feelings or experience.

In those days the aria represented solo number of type da capo ("ёэрёрыр"), i.e. In the beginning the main theme, behind it minor then repetition of the main theme followed was executed. In the third part, absolutely excessive from the point of view of a plot, vocal skill of the executor, and, actually, was shown for the sake of it the opera joined all aria. The well-known singers decorated the parties so masterly passages that those, eventually, have turned to improbably difficult vocal turns resulting public in violent delight.

Eunuchs - singers-men, in the childhood podvergshiesja castrations were the Greatest opera executors of that epoch to keep a boyish soprano. Such voice supported with force of an adult organism, differed amazing cleanliness and flexibility, and in a XVIII-th century of heart of public the outstanding singers-eunuchs one of which was Farinelli (1705-82) captivated.


the Opera-seria

Up to XIX century leading parties in operas-seria ("ёхЁіхчэ№§ юяхЁр§") executed man's sopranos, and only later it on change send the tenor. The Opera-seria was action rather far from a real life, and its plots - as a rule, episodes from an antique history in free treatment - amaze a modern audience with the artificiality. However in this genre the Italian opera has won all Europe where almost all performances were executed in Italian. Even German Handel and great reformers of an opera the Glitch and Mozart wrote music on the Italian libretto. Only in France own national tradition which bases were put by Jean Batist Ljulli was generated. However, and it began the course of life in Florence under Giovanni Battista Lulli's name.


the Opera-buffa

To the middle of a XVIII-th century the opera-buffa, or a comic opera began to compete to an opera-seria. In this cheerful musical performance with fast change of events simple people in usual everyday situations operated, and, even getting in ridiculous or difficult situations, characters showed real emotions (unlike grandiloquent outpourings in an opera-seria). In an opera-buffa familiar defects, say, greed and vanity were derided by all. Having offered the spectator it is perfect other tradition, the opera-buffa too has gained considerable distribution outside of Italy, and in France even has provoked pamphlet "тющэѕ сѕ¶¶юэют". In this genre brilliant composers of Pergolezi, Paiziello and Chimaroza worked.

In XVIII century the accurate side between a serious and comic opera was gradually erased, and in a serious opera comic characters and episodes have started to appear. With development of ensembles in which different characters, conducting the general melody, simultaneously expressed different feelings, the aria has lost the leading positions. These and a number of other changes have given to an opera the big flexibility and dramatic nature. By 1800 the epoch of eunuchs though performed by the soloist - now, as a rule, women (prima donna) - still sounded the most complicated masterly arias which popularity sometimes even eclipsed glory of their executor has approached to a decline!


Rossini

However achievements of the past epoch were great, the century XIX became the Golden Age of the Italian opera by right. Dzhoakkino Rossini, the prolific genius, with equal shine writing serious and comic operas was the first great composer of a new formation. Love of public its comic operas "Ђ=рыі эър in +ыцшЁх" to this day enjoy; (1813) and well-known "Рхтшыіёъшщ чшЁ¦ыіэшъ" (1816). Last has been written for incomplete two weeks, and some fragments the author has borrowed from the old compositions.

In 1824 Rossini has moved to Paris which has become by then by musical capital of Europe, and has begun to write operas in the French style with the same ease, as well as in Italian. It "-шыіухыіь Кхыыі" (1829) - the grandiose opera about legendary Swiss luchnike - is so tightened that today is seldom executed without denominations. But the overture to it (the orchestral introduction to a curtain raising) became the most popular classical product.

After "-шыіухыіьр Кхыы " the maestro has ceased to write for a scene though by then has hardly reached 37-year-old age and stayed in the prime of life and talent. The reasons of such decision remain till now a riddle. The life rest-39 - Rossini has spent years in full content and well-being.


Romanticists

The romanticism has made On followers Rossini - an ideological and art direction in the European and American spiritual culture, struggle of passions esteeming by supreme values and extreme individualism deep impact.

Gaetano Donizetti's opera "-¦ёш  di -рььхЁьѕЁ" became the Original tragical masterpiece; (1835) on motives of the novel of V.Scott "-рььхЁьѕЁёър  эхтхё=р". And the episode of imagined wedding of mad Ljuchii with the lost beloved became, perhaps, to the most well-known "ёчхэющ схчѕьш " in the history of an opera. Similar scenes were rather popular in romantic operas where tragical passions invariably stormed.

Giving due to romantic sufferings, Italians have not lost taste to a comic opera; the same Donizetti it is masterful worked in both genres, having left descendants about 70 operas. Its contemporary Vinchentso of the Bellini has died in young years, having had time to create some recognised masterpieces, including "-юЁьѕ" (1831) which action quite in the spirit of romanticism also occurs among the Gallic druids combating the Roman conquerors. Donizettis and the Bellini were masters belkanto (literally "яЁхъЁрёэюх яхэшх"). From ornamental style of an epoch of eunuchs belkanto differs refined lyricism to which the master is capable to give depth of original feeling.


Verdi

Juseppe Verdi who lived a long 87-year-old life and have created variety of immortal products - from "+схЁ=ю" was the Greatest Italian opera composer; (1830) to "Ирыіё=р¶р" (1893). Verdi - to the native of a poor country family - was possible to find the rich patron, soglasivshegosja to pay its study. But Milan conservatory, without having revealed in the young man of talent, has refused to it reception, and to achieve success to it it was necessary persistent work and private lessons.

From the first steps of composer career of Verdi has tested some heavy blows - a failure of early products, and then death of the wife and two children. At one time it, appear, was ready to throw for ever writing, but, fortunately, one favourable impresario has shown it the libretto (the literary text) "-рсѕъъю". Inspired by a heroic plot, Verdi has immediately got down to business, and in 1842 the premiere of a new opera has taken place. She has been partly obliged by the tremendous success to the well-known chorus "Va pensiero" in which captivated in Babylon iudei grieve for the lost native land. Italians have seen here a hint on own oppressed position under the power of Austria, and in Verdi's subsequent operas continually there were scenes with the latent patriotic sense.


Opera masterpieces

Meanwhile, in 1850th from under Verdi's feather one for another there are operas which have glorified his name: "ршуюых==ю" (1851), "КЁѕсрфѕЁ" (1853) and "КЁртшр=р" (1853) in which the melodic riches are combined with depth of human experiences.

To tops of creativity of Verdi also belongs grandiose "хушях=ёър " an opera "+шфр" (1871) and two masterpieces created in the evening of life on motives of Shakespearean plays - "+=хыыю" (1877) and "Ирыіё=р¶" (1893). The bright romanticism and is a little utrirovannye characters Verdi many years reigned on an opera scene while in 1890 has not declared itself a developing creative direction - verizm, or realism. New operas have deduced for the first time on a scene of simple peasants and other characters from society bottoms, in them everyday passions violently raged.

The Greatest popularity was got by two short operas often executed in one performance - "Рхыіёър  ёхё=і" (1890) Petro Maskani and "¤р ч№" (1892) Rudzhero Leonkavallo. In both before the spectator are developed a love story and jealousy, and both come to an end with  destruction of heroes.


Puccini

Dzhakomo Puccini who have introduced in an opera the brilliant gift of the melodist was Verdi's Worthy successor. Many of its arias - for example, the well-known aria of Kalafa from an opera "КѕЁрэфю=" - it is literally at all on hearing and for a long time to a steel "яюяѕы Ёэющ ъырёёшъющ".

The First success was brought to the founder by an opera "¦рэюэ -хёъю" (1893). Tell that after a premiere the curtain rose not less than 50 times. Three subsequent products were included into gold fund of opera classics: "…юухьр" (1896) about a life and love of poor Parisian poets and artists; melodramaic "Кюёър" (1900) and "¦рфрь …р==хЁ¶ы щ" (1904), a sad story of love of the young Japanese. To its feather also belongs opera "тхё=хЁэ" "-хтѕ°ър with Грярфр" (1910), and a Chinese opera full to gloomy romanticism "КѕЁрэфю=". Work on last opera, interrupted with death of the composer in 1924, Franchesko Alfano, and a premiere "КѕЁрэфю=" has finished; has taken place in 1926

With Puccini's leaving the great lyrico-dramatic tradition of the Italian opera of XIX century

has come to the end

Итальянская опера



Сформировавшись как жанр в Италии, опера с 1597 г. быстро распространилась по всей Европе. Однако законодателями мод в новом виде искусства неизменно оставались итальянские композиторы, такие как Клаудио и Алессандро Скарлатти.

Зародившись как "драма под музыку", опера к началу XIX в. превратилась в чисто музыкальное представление, в котором речитативу - ритмичной декламации нараспев - почти не осталось места, а в сюжет спектакля органично вписались арии. Ария (буквально "воздух") - это продолжительный сольный номер. На время исполнения арии все сценическое действие замирало, и ею же обычно завершалось почти каждое явление.

Сохранившийся в диалогах речитатив обычно сопровождался аккордами чембало (клавесина), когда обмен репликами происходил в процессе развития действия, и вступлениями всего оркестра для выражения сильных чувств или переживании.

В те времена ария представляла собой сольный номер типа da capo ("сначала"), т. е. вначале исполнялась главная тема, за нею второстепенная, после чего следовало повторение главной темы. В третьей части, совершенно излишней с точки зрения сюжета, демонстрировалось вокальное мастерство исполнителя, и, собственно, ради этого в оперу включалась вся ария. Знаменитые певцы украшали свои партии столь виртуозными пассажами, что те, в конце концов, превратились в невероятно сложные вокальные номера, приводившие публику в неистовый восторг.

Величайшими оперными исполнителями той эпохи были кастраты - певцы-мужчины, в детстве подвергшиеся кастрации, чтобы сохранить мальчишеское сопрано. Такой голос, подкрепленный силой взрослого организма, отличался поразительной чистотой и гибкостью, и в XVIII веке сердца публики пленяли выдающиеся певцы-кастраты, одним из которых был Фаринелли (1705-82).


Опера-сериа

Вплоть до XIX в. ведущие партии в операх-сериа ("серьезных операх") исполняли мужские сопрано, и лишь позднее им на смену пришли тенора. Опера-сериа была весьма далеким от реальной жизни действом, а ее сюжеты - как правило, эпизоды из античной истории в вольной трактовке - поражают современную аудиторию своей искусственностью. Однако именно в этом жанре итальянская опера завоевала всю Европу, где практически все спектакли исполнялись на итальянском языке. Даже немец Гендель и великие реформаторы оперы Глюк и Моцарт писали музыку на итальянские либретто. Лишь во Франции сформировалась собственная национальная традиция, основы которой заложил Жан Батист Люлли. Впрочем, и он начинал свой жизненный путь во Флоренции под именем Джованни Баттиста Лулли.


Опера-буффа

К середине XVIII века с оперой-сериа стала соперничать опера-буффа, или комическая опера. В этом веселом музыкальном спектакле с быстрой сменой событий действовали простые люди в обычных житейских ситуациях, и, даже попадая в нелепые или затруднительные положения, персонажи проявляли реальные эмоции (не в пример высокопарным излияниям в опере-сериа). В опере-буффа высмеивались всем знакомые пороки, скажем, жадность и тщеславие. Предложив зрителю совершенно иную традицию, опера-буффа тоже получила значительное распространение за пределами Италии, а во Франции даже спровоцировала памфлетную "войну буффонов". В этом жанре работали блестящие композиторы Перголези, Паизиелло и Чимароза.

В XVIII в. четкая грань между серьезной и комической оперой постепенно стерлась, и в серьезной опере начали появляться комические персонажи и эпизоды. С развитием ансамблей, в которых разные персонажи, ведя общую мелодию, одновременно выражали разные чувства, ария утратила свои ведущие позиции. Эти и ряд других перемен придали опере большую гибкость и драматизм. К 1800 г. подошла к закату эпоха кастратов, хотя в исполнении солиста - теперь, как правило, женщины (примадонны) - по-прежнему звучали сложнейшие виртуозные арии, популярность которых иногда даже затмевала славу их исполнителя!


Россини

Сколь бы ни были велики достижения минувших эпох, золотым веком итальянской оперы по праву стал век XIX. Первым великим композитором новой формации был Джоаккино Россини, плодовитый гений, с равным блеском писавший серьезные и комические оперы. По сей день пользуются любовью публики его комические оперы "Итальянка в Алжире" (1813) и знаменитый "Севильский цирюльник" (1816). Последняя была написана за неполных две недели, причем некоторые фрагменты автор позаимствовал из своих старых сочинений.

Открытие бизнеса в ОАЭ смотрите на http://waltoncons.com.

В 1824 г. Россини переехал в Париж, ставший к тому времени музыкальной столицей Европы, и принялся писать оперы во французском стиле с такой же легкостью, как и в итальянском. Его "Вильгельм Телль" (1829) - грандиозная опера о легендарном швейцарском лучнике - настолько затянута, что в наши дни редко исполняется без купюр. Зато увертюра к ней (оркестровое вступление до поднятия занавеса) стала популярнейшим классическим произведением.

После "Вильгельма Телля" маэстро перестал писать для сцены, хотя к тому времени едва достиг 37-летнего возраста и пребывал в расцвете сил и таланта. Причины такого решения до сих пор остаются загадкой. Остаток жизни -39 лет - Россини провел в полном довольстве и благополучии.


Романтики

На последователей Россини оказал глубокое влияние романтизм - идейное и художественное направление в европейской и американской духовной культуре, почитавшее высшими ценностями борение страстей и крайний индивидуализм.

Подлинным трагическим шедевром стала опера Гаэтано Доницетти "Лючия ди Ламмермур" (1835) по мотивам романа В. Скотта "Ламмермурская невеста". А эпизод воображаемого венчания обезумевшей Лючии с погибшим возлюбленным стал, пожалуй, самой знаменитой "сценой безумия" в истории оперы. Подобные сцены были весьма популярны в романтических операх, где неизменно бушевали трагические страсти.

Отдавая должное романтическим страданиям, итальянцы не потеряли вкуса к комической опере; тот же Доницетти мастерски работал в обоих жанрах, оставив потомкам около 70 опер. Его современник Винченцо Беллини умер в молодые годы, успев создать лишь несколько признанных шедевров, в том числе "Норму" (1831), действие которой вполне в духе романтизма и происходит в среде галльских друидов, ведущих борьбу с римскими завоевателями. Доницетти и Беллини были мастерами бельканто (дословно "прекрасное пение"). От орнаментального стиля эпохи кастратов бельканто отличается изысканным лиризмом, которому мастер способен придать глубину подлинного чувства.


Верди

Величайшим итальянским оперным композитором был Джузеппе Верди, проживший долгую 87-летнюю жизнь и создавший целый ряд бессмертных произведений - от "Оберто" (1830) до "Фальстафа" (1893). Верди - выходцу из бедной крестьянской семьи - удалось найти богатого покровителя, согласившегося оплачивать его учебу. Но Миланская консерватория, не выявив в юноше таланта, отказала ему в приеме, и добиваться успеха ему пришлось упорным трудом и частными уроками.

С первых же шагов композиторской карьеры Верди испытал несколько тяжких ударов - провал ранних произведений, а затем смерть жены и двоих детей. Одно время он был, казалось, готов навсегда забросить сочинительство, но, к счастью, один благосклонный импресарио показал ему либретто (литературный текст) "Набукко". Вдохновленный героическим сюжетом, Верди тотчас взялся за дело, и в 1842 г. состоялась премьера новой оперы. Своим огромным успехом она была отчасти обязана знаменитому хору "Va pensiero", в котором плененные в Вавилоне иудеи тоскуют по утраченной родине. Итальянцы усмотрели здесь намек на собственное угнетенное положение под властью Австрии, и в последующих операх Верди то и дело появлялись сцены со скрытым патриотическим смыслом.


Оперные шедевры

Между тем, в 1850-е гг. из-под пера Верди одна за другой выходят прославившие его имя оперы: "Риголетто" (1851), "Трубадур" (1853) и "Травиата" (1853), в которых мелодическое богатство сочетается с глубиной человеческих переживаний.

К вершинам творчества Верди также принадлежит грандиозная "египетская" опера "Аида" (1871) и два созданных на склоне лет шедевра по мотивам шекспировских пьес - "Отелло" (1877) и "Фальстаф" (1893). Яркий романтизм и немного утрированные персонажи Верди много лет царили на оперной сцене, пока в 1890 году не заявило о себе развивающееся творческое направление - веризм, или реализм. Новые оперы впервые вывели на сцену простых крестьян и других персонажей из низов общества, в них неистово бурлили житейские страсти.

Наибольшую известность снискали две короткие оперы, часто исполняемые в одном спектакле - "Сельская честь" (1890) Пьетро Масканьи и "Паяцы" (1892) Руджеро Леонкавалло. В обеих перед зрителем разворачиваются истории любви и ревности, и обе заканчиваются гибелью героев.


Пуччини

Достойным преемником Верди был Джакомо Пуччини, привнесший в оперу свой блестящий дар мелодиста. Многие из его арий - к примеру, знаменитая ария Калафа из оперы "Турандот" - буквально у всех на слуху и давно стали "популярной классикой".

Первый успех принесла своему создателю опера "Манон Леско" (1893). Рассказывают, что после премьеры занавес поднимался не менее 50 раз. Три последующих произведения вошли в золотой фонд оперной классики: "Богема" (1896) о жизни и любви нищих парижских поэтов и художников; мелодраматичная "Тоска" (1900) и "Мадам Баттерфляй" (1904), печальная история любви юной японки. Его перу также принадлежит оперный "вестерн" "Девушка с Запада" (1910), и полная мрачной романтики китайская опера "Турандот". Работу над последней оперой, прерванную смертью композитора в 1924 г., завершил Франческо Альфано, и премьера "Турандот" состоялась в 1926 г.

С уходом Пуччини завершилась великая лирико-драматическая традиция итальянской оперы XIX в.