Cezanne, Gauguin and Sulfur


In France in the middle of 1880th the impressionism at has stepped a place to more original art directions. Gauguin, Cezanne and Sulfur were their founders.

The Impressionism was inconsistent and extraordinary influential school of the French painting. On change of animosities of critics the general recognition has come. Soon enough the impressionism became habitual that has pushed group of young painters to negation of values of their senior contemporaries and search of own ways of art expression.

Frenchmen Pol Cezanne, George Sera and Paul Gauguin were Three leaders of new revolution. Now currents to which they belonged and Dutch Vincent van Gogh, on advantage estimated only after death, name postimpressionism. This generalised and is conditional-collective term was entered into the reference by English art critic Roger Fr (1866-1934) already after creativity of adherents of new school has been everywhere recognised by judges of art.


George Sera

From all provozvestnikov than postimpressionism is the closest to the initial purposes of impressionism there was George Sera (1859-91). He most of all liked to write that so was pleasant to its predecessors - the Parisians enjoying the summer sun or tasting pleasures of evening rest, an everyday life of suburbs, landscapes of northern coast of France. To the son of rich parents, Sulfur never was necessary to earn on a life, therefore he could devote itself(himself) to art search entirely. To seize art of transfer of tones, in the beginning of a way it persistently worked in the technician of black-and-white drawing and only after that has addressed to colour.

Sulfur approached to colour from the scientific point of view: the artist preached optical effect of a colour mixture, preferring to mixing of different paints on a palette imposing on a canvas of a pure colour in the form of set of separate points of not mixed paints. The sizes of colour points carefully miscalculated and varied depending on the sizes of a picture and optimum distance from the spectator who saw not separate points of different colours, and difficult live, more sated colours. This technics has received the name puantilizm (from a word "=юёър"), and as its classical example the famous cloth "-юёъЁхёэр  walk on island +Ёрэф-гр==" serves; (1884-86).

Having investigated properties of colour, Sulfur has passed to studying of lines. He considered that certain lines transfer concrete emotions: a line bent upwards - the happiness, falling downwards - grief, and horizontal lines - serene rest.


Paul Gauguin

Unlike serene and methodical Sulfur, Paul Gauguin (1848-1903), as well as Van Gogh, believed that painting should aspire to display of internal experiences and the same as the Dutch artist, thirsted to change the world to the best. Searches of more perfect and harmonious world as a result have got Gauguin in far-away countries, in absolute other cultural environment. Possibly, Gauguin's draught for brightness and exotic was generated by the childhood spent to Peru. However, first his life developed is ordinary enough: service in the French merchant marine fleet, work at a stock exchange, a marriage, five children, the good house in suburb of Paris...

But suddenly, in 35 years when all in a life was adjusted also affairs went as well as possible, Gauguin had an all-consuming hobby - painting. Soon it could not contain a family any more, has left a former life and in 1886 has got over in a colony of artists in Brittany, in small town Pontus-Aven. It was attracted primitive, but with ardent religiousness of local inhabitants. In a picture "-шфхэшх after church ёыѕцс№" he has tried to transfer the invisible world kind and evil ghosts. It has resolutely torn with impressionist style of painting, has refused the technics of dab inherent in this style and began to impose paints on a canvas wide and wide stains.

Gauguin's Love to primitive art has carried away it in wanderings. He wished to find more natural and correct way of life in the distant countries. It has spent last 12 years of a life on Tahiti and Marquesas Islands, only occasionally navedyvajas to Paris. Islands of the southern seas served for the artist as an inspiration perennial spring. One of distinctive features of its cloths of the Tahiti period is use of the flat, fallen asleep compositions, possibly, cast by art of Ancient Egypt.


Pol Cezanne

If Gauguin thirsted to present private world of the person, Pol Cezanne (1839 - 1906) aspired to dismember a material world. Cezanne was born in Eksan - Provence in a rich family, in the beginning 60 has left to Paris where has got acquainted with creativity of impressionists and with their work in the open air, open-air. Cezanne has started to expose the works together with artists-impressionists, but and has not accepted their method: it gravitated to transfer of changeable effects of light, how many "ё=Ёюшы after яЁшЁюфх" not so much; considering that the artist should understand geometry of the visible, first of all. From here and characteristic dab for Cezanne - accurate, resolute and dense.

In 1886, after death of the father, left to the son the considerable condition, Cezanne comes back in Eks, in an entail property. As a source of inspiration it is served by the surrounding nature. Only mountain Sent-Viktuar the artist writes one more than 60 times! Cezanne laboriously developed each theme, bringing under the painting theoretical researches and the calculations which have made subsequently appreciable impact on new generations of artists. In particular, the image Cezanne of the same subject under different points of view has essentially affected Picasso, Marriage, Lezhe and other artists of the beginning of the XX-th century.

Сезанн, Гоген и Сера



Во Франции в середине 1880-х г. импрессионизм у ступил место более своеобразным художественным направлениям. Их создателями были Гоген, Сезанн и Сера.

Импрессионизм был противоречивой и необычайно влиятельной школой французской живописи. На смену враждебности критиков пришло всеобщее признание. Довольно скоро импрессионизм стал привычным, что подтолкнуло группу молодых живописцев к отрицанию ценностей их старших современников и поиску собственных способов художественного выражения.

Тремя лидерами новой революции были французы Поль Сезанн, Жорж Сера и Поль Гоген. Сейчас течения, к которым принадлежали они и голландец Винсент Ван Гог, по достоинству оцененный лишь после смерти, называют постимпрессионизмом. Этот обобщенный и условно-собирательный термин ввел в обращение английский художественный критик Роджер Фрай (1866-1934) уже после того, как творчество приверженцев новой школы было повсеместно признано ценителями искусства.


Жорж Сера

Из всех провозвестников постимпрессионизма ближе всех к начальным целям импрессионизма остался Жорж Сера (1859-91). Он больше всего любил писать то, что так нравилось его предшественникам - парижан, наслаждающихся летним солнышком или вкушающих радости вечернего отдыха, повседневную жизнь пригородов, пейзажи северного побережья Франции. Сыну богатых родителей, Сера никогда не приходилось зарабатывать на жизнь, поэтому он мог всецело посвятить себя художественному поиску. Чтобы овладеть искусством передачи тонов, в начале пути он упорно работал в технике черно-белого рисунка и только после этого обратился к цвету.

Сера подходил к цвету с научной точки зрения: художник проповедовал оптический эффект смешения цветов, предпочитая смешиванию разных красок на палитре наложение на холст чистого цвета в виде множества отдельных точек несмешанных красок. Размеры цветовых точек тщательно просчитывались и менялись в зависимости от размеров картины и оптимального расстояния от зрителя, который видел не отдельные точки разных цветов, а сложные живые, более насыщенные цвета. Эта техника получила название пуантилизм (от слова "точка"), а ее классическим примером служит известнейшее полотно "Воскресная прогулка на острове Гранд-Жатт" (1884-86).

Исследовав свойства цвета, Сера перешел к изучению линий. Он считал, что определенные линии передают конкретные эмоции: загибающаяся вверх линия - счастье, опускающаяся вниз - грусть, а горизонтальные линии - безмятежный покой.


Поль Гоген

В отличие от безмятежного и методичного Сера, Поль Гоген (1848-1903), как и Ван Гог, верил, что живопись должна стремиться к отображению внутренних переживаний, и так же, как голландский художник, жаждал изменить мир к лучшему. Поиски более совершенного и гармоничного мира в итоге завели Гогена в дальние края, в абсолютно иную культурную среду. Вероятно, тягу Гогена к яркости и экзотике сформировало детство, проведенное в Перу. Впрочем, поначалу его жизнь складывалась довольно заурядно: служба во французском торговом флоте, работа на бирже, женитьба, пятеро детей, хороший дом в пригороде Парижа...

Но вдруг, в 35 лет, когда все в жизни наладилось и дела шли как нельзя лучше, у Гогена появилось всепоглощающее увлечение - живопись. Вскоре он уже не мог содержать семью, расстался с прежней жизнью и в 1886 г. перебрался в колонию художников в Бретани, в городок Понт-Авен. Его влекла примитивная, но пламенная религиозность тамошних жителей. В картине "Видение после церковной службы" он попытался передать невидимый мир добрых и злых духов. Он решительно порвал с импрессионистическим стилем живописи, отказался от присущей этому стилю техники мазка и стал накладывать краски на холст широкими и размашистыми пятнами.

Любовь Гогена к примитивному искусству увлекла его в странствия. В дальних странах он хотел найти более естественный и правильный образ жизни. Последние 12 лет жизни он провел на Таити и Маркизских островах, лишь изредка наведываясь в Париж. Острова южных морей служили для художника неиссякаемым источником вдохновения. Одной из отличительных черт его полотен таитянского периода является использование плоских, застывших композиций, вероятно, навеянных искусством Древнего Египта.


Поль Сезанн

Если Гоген жаждал представить внутренний мир человека, Поль Сезанн (1839--1906) стремился расчленить материальный мир. Сезанн родился в Эксан - Провансе в богатой семье, в начале 60-х уехал в Париж, где познакомился с творчеством импрессионистов и с их работой на пленэре, под открытым небом. Сезанн начал выставлять свои работы вместе с художниками-импрессионистами, но так и не принял их метод: он не столько тяготел к передаче переменчивых эффектов света, сколько "строил вослед природе", считая, что художник должен, прежде всего, разобраться в геометрии видимого. Отсюда и характерный для Сезанна мазок - четкий, решительный и плотный.

В 1886 г., после смерти отца, оставившего сыну немалое состояние, Сезанн возвращается в Экс, в родовое имение. Источником вдохновения ему служит окружающая природа. Одну только гору Сент-Виктуар художник пишет более 60 раз! Сезанн кропотливо разрабатывал каждую тему, подводя под свою живопись теоретические изыскания и выкладки, оказавшие впоследствии заметное влияние на новые поколения художников. В частности, изображение Сезанном одного и того же предмета под разными углами зрения существенно повлияло на Пикассо, Брака, Леже и других художников начала XX века.