Architecture of the XX-th century


Refusing traditional styles, architects of the beginning of the XX-th century aspired to creation of the functional designs corresponding to a new epoch. By 60th years this "шэ=хЁэрчшюэрыіэ№щ ё=шыі" has given way more live and diverse - "яюё=ьюфхЁэшчьѕ".

In a XIX-th century architects have faced the problems which have resulted industrialisation and growth of cities. With some they successfully consulted, including in carefully thought over projects new functional features and conveniences. However appearance and a lay-out of the majority of buildings still remained classical, and architects continued to use Greek, Gothic and other traditional styles even at designing of factories and stations.


future Outlines

Reformers in architecture considered as more perspective the simple and practical designs which have become possible thanks to new technologies. In 1851 the construction of the Crystal palace has shown one of such revolutionary directions. Constructed for the World's fair, this huge building represented a huge greenhouse - the pig-iron skeleton filled with glass. The building was exclusively functional (that corresponded to a task in view), rather inexpensive and simple in erection and was the representative "ётюсюфэюую" style which is easy for adapting for the most different purposes and an environment. In a XIX-th century this especially functional type of buildings without everyone ukrashatelstva yet has not found wide application out of industrial sphere though the metal design of Tour d'Eiffel in Paris (1889) was an embodiment of architectural engineering in the pure state. But technical progress has already put at disposal of architects a steel, ferro-concrete and strong glass blocks.

These materials have made possible a construction of new type of buildings - skyscrapers. Huge durability of a steel meant that now the metal skeleton can bear loading of all many-storeyed construction. Walls should not carry out any more function of bearing designs, and skyscrapers have shot up up on tens floors, and huge windows have filled in with their natural light.


Skyscrapers

the First skyscrapers have been constructed in Chicago which after a devastating fire of 1871 felt the big requirement for new buildings. After some years the electric lift (1880) that has made high-rise buildings a reality has been invented. It is considered that Houm-inshurans-bilding (1883-85, architect U.Dzhenni) which others have quickly followed was the first such building in Chicago. About 20 years in Chicago the radical architectural school Luis Salliven (1856-1924), whose department store "-рЁёюэ, Piri end Ръю==" was which most known representative prospered; (1899) with "Ёх°х=ёр=№ь" a facade from huge horizontal windows and revetted with a white tile nenesushchih became a prototype of skyscrapers across all America.


the Decor and imagination

Being the adherent strict and accurate "¶ѕэъчшюэрышчьр" Salliven nevertheless loved and widely applied at furnish of buildings style elements "ьюфхЁэ". Distinctive features "ьюфхЁэр" there was use of intricate decorative elements, including flowers and other natural forms, and also florid or, on the contrary, biting lines. This style with its special atmosphere of the refined luxury and an easy decadence has been embodied in architectural forms by Belgian Victor Hortoj (1861-1941) and Frenchman Hector Gimarom (1867-1942).

Characteristic for "ьюфхЁэр" to bends and curls as well as possible there corresponded shod pig-iron, and most visually features of this style are embodied not in buildings, and in the well-known lattices of inputs in the Parisian underground, created by Gimarom.

Other Two known architects have developed exclusively individual style close to "ьюфхЁэѕ". Scot Charles Renni Makintosh applied the extended direct forms at designing of School of art in Glasgow and in other works, successfully combining "ьюфхЁэ" with modernism tendencies. And in Barcelona the Spanish architect Antonio Gaudi (1852-1926) has created a number of buildings (including a cathedral of La Sagrada Familia and an apartment house of Kasa It is lovely), which and today amaze with imagination violence.


Without beauty and it is functional

But their creations did not satisfy inquiries of a mass society of the XX-th century. And to it industrial constructions, business centres and habitation which could be built cheaply and quickly of standard elements and panels were required. Peter Berens in Germany, created a building of turbine factory of firm "AEG" were pioneers of such functionalism; in Berlin (1908-09), both Otto Wagner (1841-1918) and its followers in Vienna. The Vagnerovsky building of post office and savings bank in Vienna (1904-06) became one of the first samples of a modernism with use of designs from a steel and glass. The radical Viennese architect and theorist Adolf Loos (Rods), having proclaimed that "юЁэрьхэ= is яЁхё=ѕяыхэшх" in the extreme form confirmed the underlined asceticism of external shape, after 1920 become typical for issued in the Western Europe "фтшцхэш  ьюфхЁэшчьр". Among ancestors of this movement there was a Dutch group "Р=шыі" based in 1917. Buildings of its architects were basically variations on a theme of cubic forms with the smooth flat surface painted in white or primary colours, with flat roofs and is underlined by horizontal lines.


to Build upwards

To the similar concept more eminent Swiss architect Charles Eduar Zhannere known as Le Corbusier (1887-1966) has come also. It has embodied in the pure state installation of movement of a modernism on clearing of architecture of ornamental elements and its data to simple geometrical forms. In 20th years Le Corbusier has constructed variety of the private apartment houses which have made appreciable impact as, for example, a country house Sava in Puassi (France, 1927-31), lifted on separate support-columns so that at ground level remains open space.

In 30th years when private orders were rare, Le Corbusier has devoted itself to town-planning. He saw the decision of a problem of shortage of space and population growth in building "ттхЁ§".


Social building

Le Corbusier were inspired by architecture vision as one of leading forces in creation of a democratic and rational society, free from chaos and a past ballast. Similar ideas "ёючшрыіэюую ё=Ёюш=хыіё=тр" professed "…рѕ§рѕч" authoritative school of design in Weimar (Germany) based by Walter Gropiusom (1883-1969). In "…рѕ§рѕчх" aimed at integration of art and architecture with technics and mass production achievements, taught both art directors, and architects-modernisty, such as Mis van der to Roe (1886-1969). When in 1925 "…рѕ§рѕч" has moved to Dessau, Gropius herself has designed for it a new building.

The unrestrained Frenk Lloyd Right (1867-1959) beginning under the direction of Luis Sallivena was the Most influential figure in architecture of the USA during several generations. Dividing some principles of movement of a modernism, Right rejected philosophy "ъюЁюсюёхъ on §юфѕы §" and gift to find original decisions and entertainment effects has ennobled it over schools and directions. Among its key works it is possible to name "фюьр in яЁхЁшш" in which it has abolished space division, asserting that has invented "шэ=хЁіхЁ opened яырэр" also has removed all partitions between habitation and environment. Its well-known "-юь over тюфюярфюь" (1936) in pensilvanskom to wood looks almost as a heap of rocks. Till the end of a life Right actively created, creating such courageous projects, as Muzej Guggenhajma in New York (1956-59).

By 1932 modernism movement has found wide popularity, and its characteristic style began to be called "шэ=хЁэрчшюэрыіэ№ь". But architects-modernisty still received few orders, and 30th years have appeared for them a difficult period: Germany at nazis and the USSR at all did not recognise a modernism, and in other world new building has been seriously undermined by an economic crisis.

After the Second World War international style has appeared out of competition. Le Corbusier's idea and its adherents answered a spirit of the age, and the huge volume of post-war building demanded simplicity and use of modular designs. In 1946 Le Corbusier projects well-known "цшыѕ¦ хфшэшчѕ" - a 337-storeyed inhabited complex on open support, with shops on average floors and a garden, a day nursery, a sports complex and cafe on a roof. This project has considerably strengthened the tendency to many-storeyed building as the decision of some social and economic problems. At this time in the USA "яЁртш= сры" Mis van der Roe, creating one behind another office buildings of deceptive simplicity. Them there and then undertook to copy all over the world. The greatest influence has rendered a company building "РшуЁІь" in New York (1958, in the co-authorship with F.Johnson). This faultlessly proportional building from glass and metal is placed on a background of open space, its bronzovo-brown tone have for a long time established a fashion in colour scores.


Disappointments

All new and new technologies found an embodiment in so-called. Geodetic domes (trellised roofs from transparent plexiglass) and the other miracles which have decorated the international exhibition centres and stadiums. And still by the end of 60th years the disappointment in international style became obvious.

Colourless concrete and technical imperfection have led a society to open discontent with a modernism. People perceived this architecture as the cold, dim and deprived individualities. Designers of inhabited files accused of destruction of the developed communities and violent isolation of inhabitants, and builders of office centres - in infringement of historical shape of cities. To the beginning 70 some constructions earlier imitated of modern architecture, have been rejected and taken down.


New ways

In 50 harbinger new in architecture there was a number of courageous, almost sculptural decisions - a chapel in Ronshane (1950-55) Le Corbusiers and the Sydney opera of Danish architect Jorna Uttsona (1957-73). But as any of new concepts could not replace international style, after 70th years it is accepted to name architectural directions the conditional term "яюё=ьюфхЁэшчь".

The Modern society cannot do without scale building on the basis of industrially made modules. As a whole, however, the postmodernism became more attentive to requirement of the person for a cosiness and its perception of environment as something friendly and operated. Some architects have completely refused modernist ideas and have returned to classicism. Others combine in the works elements classical and traditional styles - the reception especially popular at designing of the big shopping centres. It is a part of the emotional direction, aspiring to fill architecture elements of imagination and razvlekatelnosti to involve the consumer in the blase Western world. In rare instances razvlekatelnost and technical innovations give the successful combination as which example Pompidou's Center serves in Paris (architects of Piano and Rogers).


Nostalgic architecture

Are happy, however, not all. To England, for example, prince Charles, actively interested an architectural heritage, urges to return for traditional values. Partly it is quite good, but the step became result of this architectural nostalgia on British isles back.

In France, on the contrary, the government encourages creation of innovative constructions, such as a glass pyramid Emin Peja in a historical courtyard of the Louvre (1989). Despite the accruing stylistic variety, the new architecture still generates fierce disputes.

Архитектура XX века



Отказываясь от традиционных стилей, архитекторы начала XX века стремились к созданию функциональных конструкций, соответствовавших новой эпохе. К 60-м годам этот "интернациональный стиль" уступил место более живому и многообразному - "постмодернизму".

В XIX веке архитекторы столкнулись с проблемами, возникшими в результате индустриализации и роста городов. С некоторыми они успешно справлялись, включая в тщательно продуманные проекты новые функциональные особенности и удобства. Однако внешний вид и планировка большинства зданий по-прежнему оставались классическими, а архитекторы продолжали использовать греческий, готический и другие традиционные стили даже при проектировании заводов и вокзалов.


Очертания будущего

Реформаторы в архитектуре считали более перспективными простые и практичные конструкции, ставшие возможными благодаря новым технологиям. Уже в 1851 году сооружение Хрустального дворца продемонстрировало одно из таких революционных направлений. Построенное для Всемирной выставки, это огромное здание представляло собой гигантскую оранжерею - чугунный каркас, заполненный стеклом. Здание было исключительно функциональным (что соответствовало поставленной задаче), относительно недорогим и простым в возведении и являлось представителем "свободного" стиля, который легко адаптировать для самых разных целей и окружения. В XIX веке этот сугубо функциональный тип зданий безо всякого украшательства еще не нашел широкого применения вне промышленной сферы, хотя металлическая конструкция Эйфелевой башни в Париже (1889) явилась воплощением архитектурной инженерии в чистом виде. Но технический прогресс уже предоставил в распоряжение архитекторов сталь, железобетон и прочные стеклоблоки.

Эти материалы сделали возможным сооружение нового типа зданий - небоскребов. Огромная прочность стали означала, что теперь металлический каркас может нести нагрузку всего многоэтажного сооружения. Стены больше не должны были выполнять функции несущих конструкций, и небоскребы взметнулись ввысь на десятки этажей, а огромные окна залили их естественным светом.


Небоскребы

Первые небоскребы были построены в Чикаго, который после опустошительного пожара 1871 года испытывал большую потребность в новых зданиях. Спустя несколько лет был изобретен электрический лифт (1880), что сделало высотные здания реальностью. Считается, что первым таким зданием в Чикаго был Хоум-иншуранс-билдинг (1883-85, архитектор У. Дженни), за которым быстро последовали другие. Около 20 лет в Чикаго процветала радикальная архитектурная школа, самым известным представителем которой был Луис Салливен (1856-1924), чей универмаг "Карсон, Пири энд Скотт" (1899) с "решетчатым" фасадом из огромных горизонтальных окон и облицованных белой плиткой ненесущих стен стал прообразом небоскребов по всей Америке.


Декор и фантазия

Являясь приверженцем строгого и четкого "функционализма", Салливен тем не менее любил и широко применял при отделке зданий элементы стиля "модерн". Отличительными чертами "модерна" было использование замысловатых декоративных элементов, включая цветы и другие природные формы, а также витиеватые или, наоборот, хлесткие линии. Этот стиль с его особой атмосферой утонченной роскоши и легкого декаданса был воплощен в архитектурные формы бельгийцем Виктором Хортой (1861-1941) и французом Гектором Гимаром (1867-1942).

Характерным для "модерна" изгибам и завиткам как нельзя лучше соответствовал кованый чугун, и наиболее наглядно особенности этого стиля воплощены не в зданиях, а в знаменитых решетках входов в парижское метро, созданных Гимаром.

Два других известных архитектора выработали исключительно индивидуальный стиль, близкий к "модерну". Шотландец Чарльз Ренни Макинтош применял вытянутые прямые формы при проектировании Школы искусства в Глазго и в других своих работах, удачно сочетая "модерн" с тенденциями модернизма. А в Барселоне испанский архитектор Антонио Гауди (1852-1926) создал ряд зданий (включая собор Ла Саграда Фамилиа и жилой дом Каса Мила), которые и сегодня изумляют буйством фантазии.


Без красот и функционально

Но их творения не удовлетворяли запросы массового общества XX века. А ему требовались промышленные сооружения, деловые центры и жилье, которые можно было строить дешево и быстро из стандартных элементов и панелей. Пионерами такого функционализма были Петер Беренс в Германии, создавший здание турбинного завода фирмы "AEG" в Берлине (1908-09), и Отто Вагнер (1841-1918) и его последователи в Вене. Вагнеровское здание почтамта и сберкассы в Вене (1904-06) стало одним из первых образцов модернизма с использованием конструкций из стали и стекла. Радикальный венский архитектор и теоретик Адольф Лоос (Лоз), провозгласив, что "орнамент - это преступление", в экстремальной форме утверждал подчеркнутый аскетизм внешнего облика, после 1920 года ставший типичным для оформившегося в Западной Европе "движения модернизма". Среди родоначальников этого движения была голландская группа "Стиль", основанная в 1917 году. Здания ее архитекторов были в основном вариациями на тему кубических форм с гладкой плоской поверхностью, окрашенной в белый или основные цвета, с плоскими крышами и подчеркнуто горизонтальными линиями.


Строить вверх

К схожей концепции пришел и более именитый швейцарский архитектор Шарль Эдуар Жаннере, известный как Ле Корбюзье (1887-1966). Он воплотил в чистом виде установку движения модернизма на освобождение архитектуры от орнаментальных элементов и сведение ее к простым геометрическим формам. В 20-е годы Ле Корбюзье построил целый ряд оказавших заметное влияние частных жилых домов, как, например, вилла Савой в Пуасси (Франция, 1927-31), поднятая на отдельные опоры-столбы так, что на уровне земли оставалось открытое пространство.

В 30-е годы, когда частные заказы были редки, Ле Корбюзье посвятил себя градостроительству. Он видел решение проблемы нехватки пространства и роста населения в строительстве "вверх".


Социальное строительство

Ле Корбюзье вдохновляло видение архитектуры как одной из ведущих сил в создании демократичного и рационального общества, свободного от хаоса и балласта прошлого. Похожие идеи "социального строительства" исповедовал "Баухауз", авторитетная школа дизайна в Веймаре (Германия), основанная Вальтером Гропиусом (1883-1969). В "Баухаузе", нацеленном на интеграцию искусства и архитектуры с достижениями техники и массового производства, преподавали как ведущие художники, так и архитекторы-модернисты, такие как Мис ван дер Роэ (1886-1969). Когда в 1925 году "Баухауз" переехал в Дессау, Гропиус сам спроектировал для него новое здание.

Сегодня продажа офисной мебели - очень прибыльный вид бизнеса.

Самой влиятельной фигурой в архитектуре США в течение нескольких поколений был неукротимый Фрэнк Ллойд Райт (1867-1959), начинавший под руководством Луиса Салливена. Разделяя некоторые принципы движения модернизма, Райт отвергал философию "коробочек на ходулях", а дар находить оригинальные решения и зрелищные эффекты возвысил его над школами и направлениями. Среди его ключевых работ можно назвать "дома в прерии", в которых он упразднил разделение пространства, утверждая, что изобрел "интерьер открытого плана", и снял все перегородки между жильем и окружающей средой. Его знаменитый "Дом над водопадом" (1936) в пенсильванском лесу выглядит почти как нагромождение скал. До конца жизни Райт активно творил, создавая такие смелые проекты, как Музей Гуггенхайма в Нью-Йорке (1956-59).

К 1932 году движение модернизма обрело широкую известность, а его характерный стиль стал называться "интернациональным". Но архитекторы-модернисты по-прежнему получали мало заказов, и 30-е годы оказались для них тяжелым периодом: Германия при нацистах и СССР вообще не признавали модернизм, а в остальном мире новое строительство было серьезно подорвано экономическим кризисом.

Рекомендуем посмотреть Александровскую колонну на Дворцовой площади.

После Второй мировой войны интернациональный стиль оказался вне конкуренции. Идеи Ле Корбюзье и его единомышленников отвечали духу времени, а огромный объем послевоенного строительства требовал простоты и использования сборных конструкций. В 1946 году Ле Корбюзье проектирует знаменитую "жилую единицу" - 337-этажный жилой комплекс на открытых опорах, с магазинами на средних этажах и садом, яслями, спортивным комплексом и кафе на крыше. Этот проект значительно усилил тенденцию к многоэтажному строительству в качестве решения ряда социальных и экономических проблем. В это время в США "правит бал" Мис ван дер Роэ, создавая одно за другим офисные здания обманчивой простоты. Их тут же взялись копировать во всем мире. Наибольшее влияние оказало здание компании "Сигрэм" в Нью-Йорке (1958, в соавторстве с Ф. Джонсоном). Это безупречно пропорциональное здание из стекла и металла помещено на заднем плане открытого пространства, его бронзово-коричневые тона надолго установили моду в цветовых решениях.


Разочарования

Купить недорогие платья оптом на http://www.adiont.ru/cheap-dresses.

Все новые и новые технологии находили воплощение в т. н. геодезических куполах (решетчатых крышах из прозрачного плексигласа) и прочих чудесах, украсивших международные выставочные центры и стадионы. И все же к концу 60-х годов разочарование в интернациональном стиле стало явным.

Бесцветный бетон и техническое несовершенство привели общество к открытому недовольству модернизмом. Люди воспринимали эту архитектуру как холодную, тусклую и лишенную индивидуальности. Проектировщиков жилых массивов обвиняли в разрушении сложившихся общин и насильственной изоляции обитателей, а строителей офисных центров - в нарушении исторического облика городов. К началу 70-х некоторые постройки, ранее взятые за образец современной архитектуры, были забракованы и снесены.


Новые пути

Еще в 50-х предвестником нового в архитектуре стал ряд смелых, почти скульптурных решений - капелла в Роншане (1950-55) Ле Корбюзье и Сиднейская опера датского архитектора Йорна Утцона (1957-73). Но поскольку ни одна из новых концепций не смогла заменить интернациональный стиль, архитектурные направления после 70-х годов принято называть условным термином "постмодернизм".

Современное общество не может обойтись без масштабного строительства на основе промышленно изготовленных модулей. В целом, однако, постмодернизм стал более внимателен к потребности человека в уюте и его восприятию окружающей среды как чего-то дружественного и управляемого. Некоторые архитекторы полностью отказались от модернистских идей и вернулись к классицизму. Другие сочетают в своих работах элементы классического и традиционных стилей - прием, особенно популярный при проектировании больших торговых центров. Это - часть эмоционального направления, стремящегося наполнить архитектуру элементами фантазии и развлекательности, чтобы привлечь потребителя в пресыщенном западном мире. В редких случаях развлекательность и технические новации дают удачное сочетание, примером которого служит Центр Помпиду в Париже (архитекторы Пиано и Роджерс).


Ностальгическая архитектура

Довольны, однако, не все. В Англии, например, принц Чарльз, активно интересующийся архитектурным наследием, призывает вернуться к традиционным ценностям. Отчасти это неплохо, но результатом этой архитектурной ностальгии на Британских островах стал шаг назад.

Во Франции, наоборот, правительство поощряет создание новаторских сооружений, таких как стеклянная пирамида Емин Пея в историческом внутреннем дворе Лувра (1989). Несмотря на нарастающее стилистическое многообразие, новая архитектура по-прежнему порождает ожесточенные споры.